Your life is unlikely to be the same after an auto accident. Sadly, such accidents are not rare in Washington. If the other driver breached their “duty of care” and was negligent, you can sue them for compensation. PI law firms in the state, such as Albrecht Law, offer all the support and help that people need to win a settlement. In fact, lawyers would be happy to offer a free consultation for your case. Below is an overview of three things to know about auto accident laws in Washington.
You have limited time to take action
Like in most states, Washington also has a statute of limitations, which allows a specific amount of time to file an auto accident lawsuit. You have three years to take action, and the count starts from the accident date. As you file an accident claim and work with the claims adjuster to get a fair settlement from the insurance company, the clock continues to tick. For wrongful death lawsuits, the deadline is the same. If you didn’t suffer physical injuries but want to sue for vehicle damage, you have a deadline of three years.
Your fault will matter
Washington is a claimant-friendly state. You can sue the other party even when you are more at fault than them. This is called the pure comparative fault rule. However, your fault determines what you get in a settlement. For instance, if you are 50% at fault and get $10,000 in a settlement, your eventual compensation would be just $5,000. You have to understand that the fault system will be used by the insurance company to determine the worth of your claim. If the matter ends up in court, the judge will settle the case based on each party’s fault.
You need to take action
You cannot expect to run away from the accident scene and expect a fair settlement for your claim. Washington laws make it mandatory to report an accident when there is death or injury involved. You should report the accident when there is considerable property damage involved. Keep in mind that you have to be at the scene until a police officer arrives. Never let anyone tell you that you don’t have to inform the police or file a report.
Check online now and find more on top Washington lawyers for your auto accident claim. You can expect the right lawyer to offer a free evaluation and work on a contingency fee.